NAGT > News > News and Announcements > News from SAGE 2YC

News from SAGE 2YC

published Oct 6, 2014 4:47pm

New Resource on Supporting English Language Learners

More than ever, students graduating from high schools in the U.S. are entering college while still in the process of acquiring and/or refining their skills in English. Two-year colleges have already begun to provide instruction to this new wave of undergraduate students. The SAGE 2YC project has just released a new resource on Supporting English Language Learners with information and advice for two-year college geoscience faculty.

This module characterizes who these students are, then outlines cultural and language challenges that they face combined with recommendations for faculty on strategies to help students be successful. There is also pedagogical guidance on how to enhancing English language learners' comprehension and retention of course material. Lastly, there is an extensive literature list for those interested in discovering more about the research on learning that underpins the module.

Webinar Series

SAGE 2YC (Supporting and Advancing Geoscience Education in Two-year Colleges) is pleased to announce its Fall Webinar Series.

  • The Spectrum of Student Research in Geoscience at Two-year Colleges: Some Examples (October 24)
  • Designing Undergraduate Research Programs for Students from Two-year Colleges (November 14)
  • Strategies for Supporting 2YC/4YC Student Transfer in the Geosciences (November 21)
There is no cost to attend a webinar, but registration is required. Each event has its own registration, and participants can register for as many events as they wish with a deadline one week before the webinar. Please join us!
Webinars will be held on Fridays from 3-4 PM Eastern | 2-3 PM Central | 1-2 PM Mountain | 12-1 PM Pacific.

Workshop/Discussion on Undergraduate Research with Students at Two-year Colleges at the GSA meeting in Vancouver.

Undergraduate Research with Students at Two-year Colleges

Tuesday October 21, 2014
5:15-6:30 pm.
Hyatt Regency - Oxford Room
Light snacks provided

This workshop/discussion at the GSA meeting in Vancouver will include short introductions about the spectrum of opportunities for undergraduate research with students at 2YC, from research experiences in classes, to research projects with students at 2YCs in various settings to summer Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REUs) and more. There will be opportunities to share your experiences with undergraduate research with students at 2YCs, to discuss benefits and challenges, to ask questions about how to get started, and learn about resources to support you in your efforts. We welcome all who are interested in this topic.

Conveners: Heather Macdonald and Eric Baer
Organized by SAGE 2YC and co-sponsored by COSEE-Pacific Partnerships, GeoCUR, GSA Education Division, NAGT, NAGTGeo2YC, and AGU Education and Public Outreach Program.

Advertisement