Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards

TA's at work
Jump down to: Award Recipients | Make a Nomination

The Award

NAGT recognizes outstanding teaching assistants in geoscience education with up to 30 awards annually. Both undergraduate and graduate teaching assistants are eligible for the award. Award winners receive a one year membership in NAGT, which includes an online subscription to the Journal of Geoscience Education and our In The Trenches quarterly magazine. The yearly membership starts January 1st of the upcoming year.

The undergraduate student awards are the gift of Thomas Hendrix, Grand Valley State University. Tom was the recipient of the 1994 Neil Miner award and he also served as President of NAGT as editor of the Journal of Geoscience Education. The graduate student awards are funded by NAGT.

Award Recipients

2019 Recipients

June Award

  • Brightin Blanton, Clemson University
  • Allison Bohanon, Tennessee Tech University
  • Gabrielle Corradino, North Carolina State University
  • Jonathan Cripps, Simon Fraser University
  • Shannon Hsieh, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Jessica Johnson, University of New Mexico
  • Isaac Keohane, University of South Carolina
  • Emily Pauline, University of Georgia
  • Lisa Whalen, Virginia Tech
  • Walter Yerk, Drexel University

January Award

  • Brian Duggan, University of South Carolina
  • Jiajun (Dylan) Jiang, Baylor University
  • Diane Lally, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Monica Resto, Mercer University
  • Spencer Rhodes, North Carolina State University

Past Recipients

Make a Nomination

Nominations must be submitted by the department chair or faculty member coordinating teaching assistants. A nominating letter should include:

  • The name, address and class year of the nominee
  • The name of the course or courses in which the student assisted
  • A description of the activities and qualities that make this teaching assistant outstanding

Nomination Deadlines: December 15th and June 15th

Nomination letters may be submitted by using our online nomination form or by sending them to our office:

NAGT - TA Award Nomination
c/o Carleton College/SERC
One North College Street
Northfield, MN 55057
Questions can be directed to Sandy Lynn-Proshek.